Receive the newsletter

Share :

Temporary work of art

SAINT-JOSEPH'S CHURCH
FROM 11th JULY TO 4th OCTOBER 2020

Parcours Historique

Inspired by the complex architecture of Saint-Joseph's Church and impressed by the power of this building devoid of all ornaments to fully give way to spirituality, Claude Lévêque elaborated « a visual gesture, like a step aside from Auguste Perret's total architectural approach that would adapt to it and even confront it ».

Just above the lantern tower and the choir, a moving mantle of flowers contrasts with the geometric architecture of the church, softened by the light coming through the stained glass windows, which keeps changing over the course of the day.

« This artwork is part of a series of experiences in remarkable heritage sites in which I have had to make an impact. These places raise different questions than those usually associated with art. This artwork is called La Tendresse des Loups* as a metaphor based on the contrast between the popular belief that wolves are cruel and the lightness and delicacy of the flowers. This is the French translation of a song from British band Coil », explains the artist.

This approach recalls several of Claude Lévêque's projects : in the large dormitory of the Royal Abbey of Fontevraud, Saint-Sauveur de Gellone's Abbey, in Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert, in the Louvre Pyramid, etc.

« Le Havre's urban, industrial, and port atmosphere makes it one of the most beautiful cities in France. The fusion between the port, the reinforced concrete buildings of the city centre designed by Perret, and the large pebbled beach results in truly amazing cinematic images », says Claude Lévêque

* Tenderness of Wolves

Practical info

Temporary work of art

La Tendresse des Loups

A MOVING MANTLE OF FLOWERS

SAINT-JOSEPH'S CHURCH
FROM 11th JULY TO 4th OCTOBER 2020
Venue

SAINT-JOSEPH'S CHURCH
130 Boulevard François 1er, Le Havre

ACCESSIBILITY
  • Visitors with physical disabilities
  • Visitors with hearing impairment
  • Visitors with mental disabilities
  • Visitors with visual impairment
OPENING HOURS

The artwork can be seen every day, from 10 am to 6 pm, except during services.

PRICE

Free admission

Discovery tour

Étape 27 du Parcours Historique

CULTURAL MEDIATION

Visitor welcome assistants are available on site to answer all your questions.

How to get here
Bus route 1 (Saint-Joseph)
Tramway routes A & B (Saint-Roch)
ON SITE

-

Share :

Recevoir la newsletter

Partager :

Œuvre éphémère

Eglise Saint-Joseph
Du 11 juillet au 4 octobre 2020

Inspiré par la complexité des combinaisons structurantes de l’église Saint-Joseph, impressionné par la force de cet édifice où l’absence d’ornement fait entièrement place à la spiritualité, Claude Lévêque a recherché « un geste visuel, comme un pas de côté à l'architecture totale d’Auguste Perret, qui s'y adapte et s’y confronte ».

En aplomb de la tour lanterne, à la verticale du chœur, un manteau de fleurs mouvant introduit un contraste dans l’architecture mathématique, tamisée les impacts de couleur des vitraux, changeant au cours de la journée.

« Cette œuvre fait partie des expériences dans des lieux patrimoniaux marqués et dans lesquels je dois provoquer un écho. Ces lieux posent d'autres questions que ceux appropriés à l'art. Le titre La Tendresse des Loups est une métaphore qui joue sur le contraste entre la légende populaire du loup cruel et la légèreté sensorielle de cette parure de fleurs. C’est la traduction française d’un titre du groupe Coil » explique l’artiste.

Cette approche rappelle plusieurs projets de Claude Lévêque : dans le grand dortoir de l’Abbaye de Fontevraud, dans l’abbaye de Gelonne à Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert, à la Pyramide du Louvre, etc.

« Le contexte, urbain, industriel et portuaire du Havre en fait l'une des plus belles villes de France. La fusion entre le port, la minéralité du centre-ville de Perret et la plage de gros galets produit une vision cinématographique ». Claude Lévêque

Informations pratiques

Œuvre éphémère

La Tendresse des Loups

Un manteau de fleurs mouvant

Eglise Saint-Joseph
Du 11 juillet au 4 octobre 2020
Lieu

Eglise Saint-Joseph
130 Boulevard François 1er, Le Havre

ACCESSIBILITÉ
  • Visiteurs à mobilité réduite
  • Visiteurs déficients auditifs
  • Visiteurs déficients intellectuels
  • Visiteurs déficients visuels
HORAIRES D'OUVERTURE

Oeuvre en libre accès tous les jours de 10 h à 18 h, sauf pendant les offices et cérémonies.

TARIF

Gratuit

Parcours

-

MÉDIATION CULTURELLE

Une équipe de médiation est présente sur place pour répondre à vos questions.

Venir
Bus : ligne 1 (arrêt Saint-Joseph)
Tramway : lignes A et B (arrêt Saint-Roch)
SUR PLACE

-

Partager :