The Halles Centrales
Architects : André Le Donné, Charles Fabre, Jean Le Soudier.
On the site of the former market hall built in 1884 but destroyed by the 1944 bombings.
The Halles Centrales (covered market) building is located in a vibrant commercial district, close to its pre-war site. It was constructed in 1960 by André Le Donné, Charles Fabre and Jean Le Soudier, who turned their backs on Perret’s style to renew with the market hall style in vogue in the late 1950s.
The central market was renovated in 1999 and still retains its function as a retail market. The central space lies under a brick vault while a number of stores occupy the alcoves around the edge. Other than the building constructed in 1952 by André Le Donné – easily identifiable by its scale-type patterns and its covered passageway out towards Espace Niemeyer – the buildings surrounding les Halles were built later on, often inspired by very different architectural principles to those applied by Atelier Perret.
Les Halles centrales © Laurent Bréard / Ville du Havre
Find out more
76600 Le Havre